fb round  twitter round  edited instagram image

Who We Are

We are the Pietermaritzburg & District Community Chest.

We are a registered not-for-profit (NPO 002-141) and public benefit organisation (PBO130003527).


  • enhanced communities • restored hope


  • To inspire and facilitate community giving and action, for community enhancement.


We espouse and practice the following eight values, which we believe are crucial to achieving social transformation:


  1. In wanting to shift the culture of poverty to a culture of prosperity, which INITIATIVES are strategic for us to focus on?
  2. What is our declared INTENTION with our strategy and areas of engagement?
  3. Who and what is influencing our INTERVENTION?
  4. In designing strategies how are we addressing the power vs. INFLUENCE challenge that often strangles development?
  5. What new INTELLIGENCE are we employing to address the issues we want to solve or shift?
  6. Are we being INNOVATIVE with what we are doing or are we merely regurgitating what others are doing or what we ourselves have always done?
  7. How are we planning to measure the IMPACT of what we have designed as an intervention?
  8. Can we speak with INTEGRITY to the donors and the community about what we are planning and doing?

These eight values, which we seek to implement, underpin our core objective: enhancing communities – restoring hope        


The Council of the Pietermaritzburg & District Community Chest is responsible for the management and administration of the affairs of the Organisation.


Premier of Kwazulu-Natal 

Mayor of Msunduzi Municipality

Mr. Kay Makan (Honorary Vice President)

Mrs. Primi Chetty (Chairperson)

Mr. Simon Gushu (Vice-Chairperson)

Mr. Johan Riekert (Treasurer)


Mr. Lionel Mabaso

Ms. Fundiswa Zuma

Dr. N. Nkosi

IMG 20230927 WA0005


Angie Narayanan - Resource Mobilisation & Public Relations Manager

Christian Dlamini - Monitoring & Evaluation Officer

Irene Shezi - General Assistant

Mala Maharaj - Finance Officer

Richard Rangiah - Executive Director

Sma Sokhela - Resource Mobilisation Officer